Key Information for Travelers to Malaysia.

Tuesday, 08 September 2020

Dear Friends of Malaysia,

Our Immigration Department has come up with the latest list of 23 countries whose citizens are temporarily barred entering Malaysia effective September 7 due to the high number of recorded positive COVID-19 exceeding 150,000 cases.

The countries include The United States of America, Brazil, India, Russia, Peru, Colombia, South Africa, Mexico, Spain, Argentina, Chile, Iran, The United Kingdom, Bangladesh, Saudi Arabia, Pakistan, France, Turkey, Italy, Germany, Iraq, The Philippines and Indonesia.

These entry restrictions are to contain further spread of the pandemic due to an increasing number of imported COVID-19 cases.

However, Malaysians from these high-risk countries are allowed to return home, subject to the existing procedure of 14-day mandatory quarantine as well as other standard operating procedures (SOPs).

The entry bans also applied to the holders of long-term passes from these 23 countries including Permanent Residents of Malaysia (MyPR), Malaysia My Second Home Programme (MM2H), all expatriates, Residence Pass, Student Pass, Visit Pass (Temporary Employment) and spouses of Malaysian citizens and their children with Long Term Social Visit Pass.

Besides, other foreign nationals who currently reside and hold long-term passes in these countries also barred from entering Malaysia.

As of September 8, there is an increase in the number of COVID-19 recoveries in Malaysia, totalling to 9,136 in which it represents 95.57% of the total positive cases. The total number of COVID-19 fatalities, however, remained at 128 cases or 1.34% of the total confirmed cases.

Be informed about Malaysia
as a travel destination.