Key Information for Travelers to Malaysia.

Tuesday, 27 April 2021

Dear Friends of Malaysia,

Malaysia will temporarily bar flights and transits from and to India to curb the spread of the new Indian COVID-19 variant in the country beginning 28 April 2021. The ban will also apply on ships with travel history to India over the past 14 days, except for Malaysian travellers and crew members subjected to mandatory 14-day quarantine before entry.

Indian citizens with a valid Malaysian work permit will also be denied entry to Malaysia as well as international students and business travellers from India. But foreigners who are spouses to Malaysians are allowed to return.

Recently, our government has introduced the new Standard Operating Procedures (SOP) for foreign returnees from countries with reported SARS-CoV-2 Variant of Concern (VOC) to stem the spread of these new COVID-19 variants in Malaysia.

The returnees need to take a swab test three days before departure to Malaysia and undergo quarantine at designated centres, with the 10-day quarantine period being extended to 14 days. Besides, the returnees, among others, need to use the MySejahtera app to register the QR code upon arrivals in Malaysia and undergo another swab test on the 10th day of the quarantine. In fact, the Sabah state government has also decided to ban India, France, America, Africa and Brazil nationals from entering the state in view of these COVID-19 variants effective 28 April 2021.

On the other hand, the latest announcement by the Malaysian government still banning interstate travel, and all ten districts in Kelantan will remain under COVID-19 travel restriction, namely Movement Control Order (MCO), until 17 May 2021.

Sabah would be placed under the Conditional Movement Control Order (CMCO) from 29 April until 17 May due to the increased COVID-19 red zones in the state. The CMCO enforced in Selangor, Kuala Lumpur, Johor and Penang, and Sarawak would also be extended for another two weeks until 17 May 2021.

Meanwhile, the more relaxed COVID-19 restrictions, namely Recovery Movement Control Order (RMCO) imposed in Perlis, Melaka, Pahang, Terengganu, Perak, Negeri Sembilan (except Seremban district), Kedah (except Kuala Muda district) as well as Federal Territory of Putrajaya and Labuan, would also be extended until 17 May 2021.

However, interstate travel is allowed between RMCO states under the green travel bubble concept using travel agency registered under the Ministry of Tourism, Arts and Culture Malaysia (MOTAC) with adherence to the SOP. Inter-district travel within the state is permitted except in Sabah and Sarawak, based on the respective state governments’ decision.

Starting 19 April 2021, Malaysia has also kicked off the second phase of its National COVID-19 Immunisation Programme, targeting 9.4 million senior citizens, people with disabilities and comorbidities.

As of 27 April, another 2,019 COVID-19 patients have recovered so far in Malaysia, and the overall COVID-19 recovery rate is at 93.25%. At the same time, Malaysia also recorded 2,733 new cases, totalling 398,451 cases nationwide. The total number of deaths is 1,462 cases or representing 0.37% of the confirmed cases.

Be informed about Malaysia
as a travel destination.